About Us

Cape Girardeau County Board for Developmental Disabilities

Cape Girardeau County Board for Developmental Disabilities is a political subdivision of Cape Girardeau County, Missouri created in April 0f 1975 when voters in Cape Girardeau County approved passage of state enabling legislation commonly referred to as “Senate Bill 40”.

The agency is authorized by Sections 205.968-205.972 of the Revised Missouri Statutes to provide for the needs of Cape County citizens with developmental disabilities in areas of employment, residential, and related services.
If you know someone that needs our assistance, please have them contact us at director@capecountyboard.org


Our Board of Directors

CCBDD is guided by a nine-member Board of Directors who are appointed by the Cape County Commission to serve three year terms. The Board of Directors consists of a cross-section of parents and family members of persons with developmental disabilities, educators, professionals, and other members of the community who act as advocates for our county’s citizens with developmental disabilities.

Board MemberTerm End
Stephen Naeter6/30/2025
Karen Fornkahl6/30/2025
Beth Emmendorfer6/30/2025
Debra Followell6/30/2023
Bill Ramsey6/30/2024
Dixie McCollum6/30/2023
Julie Metzger6/30/2024
Tameika Morris6/30/2023
Traci Ritter6/30/2024
Upcoming Events

2024 Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held at the Cape Girardeau Public Library and start at 6:30pm.
Meeting dates/times may be updated as needed.